PDA

View Full Version : How much affect does culture have?

brandyt
02-29-2008, 09:59 AM
I am newbie, just recently started looking for my master. I have been chatting with one for about a month now and I am very interested in him and he in my.

My concern is that he is Indian and hindu...I have little knowledge of his culture, but am aware that culturally their views of women and their regard of them is poor. I do not want to put myself into a situation where I will be abused.

Does anyone have any experience with a Dom or Master of this culture?

Or for a Dom/master with this cultural background...does it have an effect upon how you view your sub and how they will be used and treated.

Thanks in advance for the responses.
BrandyT

gemmy
02-29-2008, 11:13 AM
brandy,

regardless of the general nature of culture, i wouldn't think you should put a tag on him based on heresay of others - all cultures have their bad apples, yes but you should trust your own instincts on what you feel from Him based on extensive communication between the two of you

all people are uniquely individual and i think should be looked upon as such, not judged and tagged based on background, religion, race, etc.

only you know what's right for you *smiles*

gem,
xo

brandyt
02-29-2008, 11:17 AM
Gem,
Thank you. I agree that people should not be tagged..I guess that reassurance of that is more what I need. I would not want to be sterotyped as well...lol. However curiosity about cultural influences interest me as well.

gemmy
02-29-2008, 12:09 PM
i do agree there brandy, it is interesting how different cultures are far ahead in their thinking than others

i, myself, am in Canada and find that we are perhaps the farthest behind in the acceptance of BDSM or any kind of Alt sex and from my perception, it would seem the UK has it down, figures an ocean would separate us lol

gem,
xo

DOMLORD
02-29-2008, 03:08 PM
i think Sonali is from India. she might be able to help

crazy_grrluk