PDA

View Full Version : The use of wax

Occam
10-17-2008, 11:23 PM
As those of you who I have met and welcomed me know I am new to all this, and to those of you I haven't met I hope to meet you soon. My friend that introduced me, I guess you can call her my sub, wants to play with candles specifically wax. So I'm looking for some help with proper technic, so I don't burn her, and are some candles better then others? Anything anyone can tell me to keep the play safe would be great. Thanks.

SUBtly_shy
10-18-2008, 01:08 AM
Hi Occam

welcome to the library. I haven't as of yet played with wax but there was a thread in the bdsm a-z glossary here is a link to the wax thread I hope it helps :) or at least points you to a few people to talk to about it http://www.bdsmlibrary.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14761

icey
10-18-2008, 10:27 AM
dont use beeswax candles they have a much higher temperature and hard candles are best avoided,they have a high quantity of stearin which raises the temperature considerably, soya candles have the lowest temperature but most household candles are fine, always make sure to do a test on a less senstive area your subs skin.
ideally you want a candle with a decent width because as the wax begins to melt it forms a pool around the top of the candle giving the it time to cool slightly. On a thin candle the melted wax builds up quickly and drips off much faster.

spammik
10-18-2008, 12:40 PM
We have used wax, however they were candles made for use on the body and I like the way it feels......not to hot just enough and really exciting. Of course my husband doesn't like them.....they are too hot for him. HA.

sadiej
10-18-2008, 07:27 PM
i have read that the use of unscented candles is best as the oils that they use to scent them can cause the wax to be too hot.

also a little test on the inside of your wrist before play *like testing milk in a baby bottle* is a good way to check out the height to drip from for the best effect.