PDA

View Full Version : Ever had a sub snap/lose control

antebellum
10-21-2008, 11:28 PM
I'm new to the Dom scene, realize, and I have only had one pet. We have the safewords worked out, and I also try to keep a watch just in case I think things are going to far, in which case I call a halt.

Once when I was spanking my sub (hand) she curled up in fetal position and started crying. I picked her up and held her until she stopped, and she said she doesn't' know why she does that. This happened one other time when I spanked her with a belt (once lash with it and she did this, so I never used a belt in our scenes again). Here are my questions.

1. What is it?

2. Good or Bad?

3. How do you deal with it?

AdrianaAurora
10-22-2008, 02:35 AM
Its very hard to pass a judgement call, considering limited information and not knowing either of you.

It could just be an emotional discharge. Or spanking (or something else) is a trigger.

My best advice to you is – if its possible – to try and find a psychologist sensitive to the Lifestyle. Or at least for you to talk more about it with your sub.

leo9
10-22-2008, 04:38 AM
BDSM reaches places we have closed off from the world. Some have good feelings in them that we had shut away because we thought they were forbidden, some hold toxic waste.

But getting toxic waste out is good, if you take proper HazMat precautions. As they say in re-evaluation counselling, the discharge is not the distress: crying and curling up, if they're not a sign you are doing something obviously wrong at that moment (which you weren't), are probably a healing process at work.

You may understandably not want to switch gears from fun to therapy in the middle of a scene. But if I were you, I would set up some sessions where you intentionally do the things that have triggered this discharge, and be ready to give her support and validation - "It's OK to cry, I'm with you, let it happen".