PDA

View Full Version : Depression in a sub role

sinfulsex
11-11-2008, 03:54 AM
hey
i would just like to start of by saying this is in no way meant to offend anyone as it could be a sesitive subject but
i know i am naturally submissive and i also have depression, as i am studying psych at school i was just intrested to see if the majority of people with depression are more naturally submissive or are more dominant. its just a query whether you become submissive because you are depressed?
does anyone think there may be a link, its something ive wondered about for a while.

sorry if anyone thinks that was hurtful in anyway
emma

RickBulow74
11-11-2008, 05:23 AM
This is a good question, and one which was brought up in a discussion I was leading on disabilities. HOW can those who have mental illnesses partake in BDSM? I mean, I had read all of the pages on PHYSICAL disabilies and BDSM, but nothing on MENTAL sisabilities. Umless I happened to miss reading about it in my studies.

sinfulsex
11-11-2008, 10:56 AM
well surely it depends on the mental dissability in terms of depression and say dyslexia theres no problem unless its for serious cases, put for people with much more serious mental disabilities is the same level of submission or domination. it was a subject i always was curious about

fetishdj
11-11-2008, 11:06 AM
I think a Dom has to be aware of all issues a sub may have - be they mental or physical - and account for them in all that they do. You don't, for example, want to be putting someone in a position where they are facing their phobia trigger (unless you are a qualified psychologist doing it for a therepeutic reason).

Depression can be a problem if the Dom is not careful of it. You can send a sub reeling into a deeper spiral of the condition if you are not too careful. On the other hand, a decent Dom could actually improve the condition of someone with depression by building self esteem. Also, good sex is an excellent anti-depressant...

sinfulsex