PDA

View Full Version : Protocol tips please!!

bpqueen
12-02-2008, 03:29 PM
I am very new to the lifestyle and my Master is very particular about my speech patterns, but I have absolutely no idea where to turn for examples of more proper and respectful ways of asking questions and using non-directive speech patterns. In particular, I recently sent my Master a web link for healing herbs in regards to a conversation that we had, and was repremanded for using a sentence that was "perilously close" to being a "passive-aggressive order." Unfortunately, I did not grow up in a "respectful" enviornment and have no idea of the types of etiquette inferred in my speech patterns. In his reply to me, he distinguished between casual, informal, and formal forms of address in addition to my Dom, other Doms, and other Subs. Does anyone have any good links for me that they could share before I get myself into further trouble? I am trying to search the forum and online, but there are too many filters that I just can't seem to get through. I would really appreciate it :-)

Pearlgem
12-02-2008, 03:48 PM
I honestly think your Master is the best person to make it clear to you what forms of address he wants you to use. He should be able to tell you clearly and directly how he wants you to address him and help you with examples of other 'speech patterns' he requires - even having practice sessions with you with examples of disliked speech eg a 'passive-aggressive order', and what would he would prefer. (I'm not sure I would know what that meant exactly unless I heard actual examples.) Of course, you'd pick up the principles of what he wants rather than learn each and every example.
It's hardly fair if you've to alter something you have small knowledge or awareness of unless he is tasking you to find out, but even then you are bound to make mistakes as you learn. Ask him very specifically what he requires of you, and focus your energies on that.

Veralynne
12-02-2008, 03:50 PM