PDA

View Full Version : Complete beginner - advice?

cadela
01-05-2009, 02:39 PM
Hi all.

I'm writing a BDSM novel - my first effort; it's partially based on my own story as a lifestyle subbie for the last eight years. I'm up to about 42,000 words and the natural story will probably get to about 60/65,000 without padding. I think it's good (naturally!) and a couple of unshockable vanilla friends are enjoying the tale (although they've skipped the heavier pain scenes!).

Question is where do I go from here? Should I put it up in the library in chapters for feedback? Which are the most receptive publishers for a first novel? Should I approach an agent, if so which one? (I live in Portugal). I know I need to write a synopsis but how long/how much detail should it contain?

Apologies for all the questions and if this post is in the wrong place. Many thanks in advance for any advice.

cadela.

Aussiegirl1
01-15-2009, 06:05 AM
Hi Cadela,

Sounds like you are doing a great job! I am not so sure about publishers myself, but there is a member called Clevernick who has some experience with publishing and it might helpful to talk to him. You could either PM him or you might find him in the Writer's society section.

Good luck and hope this has been of some assistance.

efwb2
01-15-2009, 08:42 AM
Hi

if you put up a chapter for feed back and see how the cummunity that will buy the book think

El x

cadela
01-15-2009, 09:06 AM
OK - here's an excerpt. kitty was supposed to meet her first Master but instead was kidnapped.....