PDA

View Full Version : Being a submissive AND a feminist?

Chillye
01-07-2010, 05:30 PM
Yes, I am a feminist. I say womyn, not women. Since I was in elementary school I've been a feminist. Reading essays/books/articles on it, taking classes, and even having discussions. BDSM is also an important part of my lifestyle-- it is one of the main puzzle pieces that depicts me as a person. But my question is; is there room for feminism while being a submissive?
Just because I'm a submissive I've had numerous doms messaging me, asking for webcam, typographical sex, and sordid pictures; assuming that they control me because they carry the name 'dom' around themselves while I have 'submissive' stamped on my forehead. When I have a Master, I will respect him/her and follow his/her wishes (and enjoy it), don't get me wrong, but I just don't want to have to lower myself and go against deeply ingrained views for someone who's NOT my Master (and doesn't plan to be).
So, is there room for someone such as me in this community?

Ozme52
01-07-2010, 09:51 PM
This is a much discussed topic.

Most will tell you that your feminist viewpoint actually liberates you to make the choice to submit and is empowering.

It's no different imo, than a type-A male-leader-of-industry who needs to submit in the bedroom as a balance to the stress of always having to decide, always having to excel, always having to achieve.

It's just that being a feminist AND a submissive "appears" to be a discontinuity. I say, more power to you. (Figuratively speaking of course... more power to whomever you cede it to. ;) )

leah06
01-07-2010, 11:55 PM