PDA

View Full Version : Want more story reviews?

xspy4u
06-23-2010, 04:19 PM
I lamented over posting this as the topic has been done before…but I’m a writer so I write stuff out.

It’s a conundrum. Studies prove that ‘financial’ rewards are not as an important motivator as other factors. Internet authors are a perfect example. We write because we have a passion, and we write because we have a story and we write to please the reader. Any writer who says, it’s not about the numbers, ratings or responses is in a very, very deep state of denial. If we did not want a response to our writing then we would not publish. Opinions will differ on this, so we can agree to disagree:d

Before I started publishing erotica, I was an avid reader. Moreover, like the vast majority, I read great stories and never commented or rated or provided email feedback. The reason was simple. The writer surely knows they did a great job, why do they need to hear from me. When I started writing my own stuff, I completely forgot that experience. I assumed writers received plenty of feedback and did not need mine. The experience was remembered when 10K people viewed at least part of my story and only three commented (on other sites it is higher, but percentage of response/readership is the same).

Here’s what helped me realize that the reader doesn’t understand the motivating power they have over a writer whose work they enjoy. I write semi-long series. Often the world of responsibilities requires that I take time off from writing to attend other things. On a number of occasions, I have received a sea of passionate requests to “continue” the story. I asked myself; if these people love this so much and have taken the time to write me now…then why didn’t they comment or rate the story in the first place. My answer, they do not know it is important to the writer.