PDA

View Full Version : Honour

thir
01-10-2011, 11:03 AM
What is honour?

Is it an outdated concept?

If so, has something else taken its place?

If not, what (if anything) will happen to the world, with its power clusters and run-away technoligy?

Just ideas in my head I'd appreciate other's take on.

thir

IAN 2411
01-10-2011, 02:38 PM
Honour is exactly what it says; you honour your Wife/Mistress/Master/Queen and country by serving them. There is nothing that can take its place, and all other things are immaterial, as it is the highest accolade that you can give at any one time to whoever you choose.

Regards IAN 2411{lillirose}

leo9
01-11-2011, 07:42 AM
When I was a student, I and my friends had a half-serious biker gang. Half serious, because on the one hand we knew that most real bikers were just thugs, but on the other hand we loved the mythology of two-wheel knights living by their own codes. So we made ourselves colours - cutoff jackets with the name embroidered in gothic letters on a banner with a colourful logo - but since we were students, they were full of what would now be called post-modernist irony, like "E=MC2" instead of the initials "MC" for Motorcycle Club.

And it was all fun and games until the day at the Windsor Free Festival when I was cruising through the campsite looking for the rest of the club, and looking everywhere except where I was going, until I realised that I was in the middle of a camp full of big mean motorbikes and big mean men. They assured me that they quite understood that I hadn't intended any disrespect by driving into their camp wearing another club's colours, and since they were feeling pretty mellow that day they didn't mind letting me leave alive, but as a matter of principle, the offending jacket had to stay.