PDA

View Full Version : How to approach the topic with a spouse...

subandi
10-02-2011, 09:20 AM
I'm a newbie to BDSM in the sense that I'm only now pursuing concrete information about it. I've never had a Master and I've rarely experienced anything that could be considered BDSM in any manner, but I've been obsessed with the lifestyle for many years. My husband and I have been together since high school and I loved to experiment prior to him, but even then I didn't get into anything major. We have issues with general sex in our relationship; I don't think we have enough of it and he thinks that sex is all I want. My main problem is that even when we do have sex I'm almost always left feeling like I'm missing out on something. I broached the topic with him last year and I don't think I went about it the right way because he basically laughed in my face and told me I was crazy. How do you talk to someone about the lifestyle without coming across as a crazy person?

sub_sequent
10-02-2011, 11:49 AM
Hi subandi. Welcome here. I am very much in the same boat as you.
We have the same issues with sex and he has the same reaction to this lifestyle.

But, being here 3 months( really a very short time :) ) i have seen 2 things.
Firstly, i read the advice in one of the forums that 'showing' him what i like during sex is better than telling him. If i tell him something he sees it as critisism and reacts in a confrontational way. If i SHOW him, its fun! Especially if he sees my reaction to what he is doing. This has helped me introduce aspects of what turns me on at times we are intimate. He is now starting to do these things without me having to show him every time :)

Secondly, as I learned more I became more confident and happy in myself. I felt many of my needs were being met here. This had a natural outflow into my everyday life. He started noticing ME as a sexual being again. Again, positive but still not exactly what I need.