PDA

View Full Version : Curious

Darryl_S
12-20-2011, 06:01 PM
I am BDSM curious and I am wanting to know how does a person know whether they tend to be a Dom or a sub? Is there a difference between a sub and a slave? What does it mean to be "owned" by someone, and why would anybody go along with being "owned"? As you can see I am new to all this. I asked a woman out awhile back and she told me that she couldn't go out, but that she would like to but she was already "owned" by someone. I'm curious as to what this means. :confused: I'm also wondering if there is a lot of brutality and pain involved in the lifestyle or if there is a point where a Dom knows to stop before it goes "too far"?

ksst
12-20-2011, 07:55 PM
Wow, what a lot of good questions. I should really let someone handle them that has been doing it longer, but there are a couple of them that I know.

I'm also wondering if there is a lot of brutality and pain involved in the lifestyle or if there is a point where a Dom knows to stop before it goes "too far"?

People use what are called safewords. Generally, "green" from the submissive means "I'm good", "yellow" means "not so good, back off or slow down" and "red" means "stop right now". And Doms listen to these and watch for other signs of their subs possibly being pushed too far.

Personally, am a slave, and owned by my Master, who is also my husband. It means different things to different people, I have found. It's generally a more thorough level of commitment to one person than submissive, although not always. Some people just like one term better than the other. Why would I go along with that? Actually, it was mostly my idea. It was just a part of me that I finally admitted to wanting, needing to be submissive, and brought out in the open with my husband.

Austerus
12-20-2011, 08:22 PM
Hi Darryl,