PDA

View Full Version : This was awkward

oneslave4me
07-06-2005, 08:27 AM
Umm, has anyone ever been asked if their SO abuses them?

I didn't even notice this, but on my right arm I have four perfect finger bruises from DH. Apparently we had a little TOO much fun. :)

Anyway, a lady at aerobics this morning kind of pulled me aside and asked if things were ok at home, etc. Apparently she had been in an abusive relationship.

So, I couldn't exactly tell this sweet southern woman about the same age as my mom that I kind of liked them there. So I said things were fine and that I didn't even really notice that they were there. But I know I blushed and she probably thinks I'm some abused woman.

Any thoughts?

Desdemon
07-06-2005, 06:23 PM
I haven't ever had this in real life, however I work as an educator for medical professionals, and in some of the cases spousal abuse questions are (unnecessarily) raised. It's tricky to diffuse them, because trying to come up with an excuse will usually result in them following it up, as the percieve 'evasiveness'.

Don't try to deny anything happened. Tell as much of the truth as you can, and put it in a positive light. Smile when you tell them everything is fine, rather than worry that you will or won't convince them People who are being abused don't (generally) smile when asked if it's happening.Since you said you enjoyed this, that shouldn't be too hard ;)

...you and your SO were roughhousing (giggle, blush) and you didn't even realize they (the bruises) were there...

"No, mine is a very happy relationship (grin)"

Nico
07-07-2005, 07:14 AM