PDA

View Full Version : It's an Ego thing

Fox
09-15-2003, 11:32 AM
I admit it. As a writer, I need input from the people who read my work.

Feedback, positive or negative, helps me be a better writer.

Second,
... wait for it ...
I have an ego that needs to be stroked, now and then.

Yep.

A part of me lives to hear what others think of my work. Nature of the beast. (I am a Leo born in the Year of the Tiger, astrological signs that cry out for attention)

So here's what brings this little true confession to the fore:

This past weekend, I submitted 5 "one page" stories I called Snippets. It is a serious "form" .... conveying a scene, a set of emotions, in a very tight space - a single page.

A second series of another seven will be appearing in a day or two.

But not a single review has appeared, which bothers me.

If you don't like them, tell me. It won't be the first time someone has not liked my work. Believe me, I can handle it.

But the silence ... ouch! that hurts.

e.e. norcod
09-15-2003, 01:39 PM
Hey Fox. I liked "Chains" so much more. I don't like to write a review of a very good, imaginatively written piece of fiction and then say "Well it was good but it really didn't do for me like this other piece of writing by the same author". How's that. Every reviewer has a particular type of fiction that they like. Mine is c.p. Write more of that and I will review more of that! Meanwhile I read everything you write because I enjoy your prose. I just don't review many stories that I don't give an eight or better to. Unless I think the author really needs some help. And that ain't you as the students say.

Fox
09-15-2003, 02:58 PM
By way of background, I tested the "snippets" with several friends before posting ... people whose opinions and advice I respect and take to heart. So I was surprised that there was no reaction at first.