PDA

View Full Version : My switch-ness getting me in trouble.

Timberwolf
08-28-2006, 07:58 PM
Timberwolf is feeling some confusion.

Okay, I've got myself in a bit of a situation. I'm still pretty new at all this in anything outside writing, and I need advice.

I'll try to set the scene without getting too overly personal. I'm a switch, this lady friend of mine is sub only. We're in an online thing only so far, just light play nothing really "serious". She's kind of a "bratty" style of sub: a girl who acts out, looking for a Dom to step up and "put her in her place" so to speak. Thing is I've had a habit of allowing her to act out and be the Top sometimes, because for me, both Dom and sub roles are enjoyable... for her, Topping is just a game, it's not serious, and it's not what she really wants. And I don't think I realized this soon enough.

Problem is, I think she's now having trouble taking the Dominant side of me seriously because of this. And I'm worried I've screwed myself, as far as any D/s goes with her (we are also what I would call good friends, that part is not in any jeopardy that I know of).

This is hard for me. Because on one hand persuing a D/s relationship with her is something I want. Badly. Really badly. But on the other, this is the first time I've really looked seriously at getting into something since realizing that I am in fact a switch, and not just a sub (over my first year in online D/s was spent entirely in a sub role). I'm finding it very hard to get in the headspace of doing only one role, or the other, full time all the time.

I'm not sure what to do about this exactly, and I guess this is something most switches probably encounter. I'm not even sure if there was a question in all of that.

But if anyone has some advice I'd like to hear it... you people do know of what you speak, and I could use some knowledge right around now.

Tojo
08-28-2006, 08:55 PM
OK, I'm NOT a switch, never have been. I can't imagine the role not being clear.