Nearly every sub I meet seems to have a story about a terrible experience with a dom/me. I find that much of the time, it was a result of violation of trust or negligence, and it's unfortunate because it really does leave them scarred. I wanted to share some perspectives I have for both subs and dominants alike. I am by no means an expert, and please do not take my advice as error-proof. Additionally, many people will have differing view points on much of what I am about to say - which is fully understandable. I am more than willing to take those view points into consideration; I am sure there is room for improvement, and it is welcome. I am going to post this in the BDSM Talk forum rather than the BDSM 101 forum because I think this is information that everyone can benefit from - not just those that are new.

For subs:

First of all, being a sub does not mean someone takes power from you - you give it. Despite being the sub, it is ultimately you that determines if you wish to give someone authority over you, and if the relationship can exist; Understanding this is very important, or you are setting yourself up to taken advantage of. Many of the subs I meet complain about being in relationships that they sound like they want to get out of, but refuse to because it would make them a bad sub. You are first and foremost a person, and like any relationship - bdsm or vanilla - you need to watch out for yourself. If you don't feel comfortable in a relationship, get the hell out of there.