PDA

View Full Version : bdsm Documentary

DiscreetCharm
08-16-2007, 07:19 PM
Hello Everyone,

I just registered to bdsmlibrary.com and have been following a few of the forums. First, let me introduce myself, I’m a working documentary artist interested in SM and DS. Not only as a lifestyle but also as an art form. To be perfectly honest I am beginning to come to terms with my own sexual identity and being able to express it.

Luckily enough the BDSM community is immensely helpful and supportive. Ok, second, as I already mentioned I am a documentary artist. As an artist I need to be able to understand my enviroment and surroundings through my craft. I’ve been doing some research (not enough) on the lifestyle in general and have been craving to make a documentary about the BDSM lifestyle. Especially now a days where sexuality, and anything attached to it, is seen through a puritan point of view (specifically America).

I guess my question to everyone is: what do you not see or would like to see be discussed in a documentary about BDSM? I would really love to hear people’s opinion. Thank You !

Warbaby1943
08-16-2007, 07:27 PM
Let's start with a welcome to the forums. Enjoy and I hope you get the help here you are seeking.

I would like to see at least a small portion of it discussing how young people (18 to 25 or so) develop such an interest in this life style at that early age. I look at it that they have hardly had any time to explore their wants and needs yet there are some many of them who are well versed in this life it truly amazes me. Are they teaching this in school these days?

gagged_Louise
08-16-2007, 08:58 PM
WB: sho needs lessons at school when popular culture is strewn with bdsm cues and references? Or when movies and tv have been exploring themes of torture, DiD and imaginative sadism for decades? Just look at the 007 series, the Die Hard movies or CSI - there's a string of textbook bdsm scenes.

margaret
08-16-2007, 10:00 PM